The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Is this IT? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

tnscot
View Profile
Loyal user
220 Posts

Profile of tnscot
I bought some black nylon craft yarn at Walmart. .25 for 10 yards. Is this what I have heard should be used for IT? Seems like the right stuff. Thoughts? Did I buy the right thing?
As Always,
Scot Legdermain
Dave V
View Profile
Inner circle
Las Vegas, NV
4824 Posts

Profile of Dave V
Not exactly, but it might work. What you're looking for is sewing thread known as "wooly nylon." You might be able to use the craft yarn. Once you strip out a strand and play with it you'll know for sure.
No trees were killed in the making of this message, but a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
tnscot
View Profile
Loyal user
220 Posts

Profile of tnscot
Well, I've never used it before, but it seems liek it will work well. It's really strong, and while it seems obvious to me while I'm using it, I watched it in a mirror, and I cant see itat all, even wearing a light colored shirt. Now all I need to do is find a good routine.
As Always,
Scot Legdermain
mrunge
View Profile
Inner circle
Charleston, SC
3716 Posts

Profile of mrunge
Just be careful with it. It can be seen in certain lighting conditions so the darker the room, the better.

Also, be on the lookout for the "wooly nylon" mentioned above. That is what is sold as IT. Make sure you get the black color since brown will look black in some light.

Good luck! Mark.
Father Photius
View Profile
Grammar Host
El Paso, TX (Formerly Amarillo)
17161 Posts

Profile of Father Photius
Your single strands should be smooth, shiney, very thin, a bit elastic, much like the strands of of thread in a woman's hair net.
"Now here's the man with the 25 cent hands, that two bit magician..."
Andy the cardician
View Profile
Inner circle
A street named after my dad
3362 Posts

Profile of Andy the cardician