The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The spooky, the mysterious...the bizarre! » » E.A. Poe effects anyone?? (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

WR
View Profile
Special user
Utah
945 Posts

Profile of WR
I am a student of Poe. He is by far my favorite author. I was wondering if anyone has any effects using his stories or poems. I am working on one for the tale tale heart.
Most magically yours,
WR Smile
"Tell Em WR sent Ya."
Caleb Strange
View Profile
Special user
Manchester UK
676 Posts

Profile of Caleb Strange
WR, this charming little story, supposedly true, explores one of Poe's terrible morbid obsessions.

At the University of Camerino, Italy, in 1950, psychology professor Dr Giuseppi Stoppolini, held classes that explored the occult. In one lecture, he introduced medium Maria Bocca to his students, and, obligingly, she went into a trance.

To begin with, it was standard fare, but near the end of the seance came a pitiful voice, distant, and filled with suffering. It said, 'I was born Rosa Manichelli. When I died I was Rosa Spadoni but my husband has since died, too. We are both in the cemetery at Castel-Raimondo. I am asking you to help me because it may be of help to others. Two days after the death certificate was signed, I was taken to the cemetery in a deep coma, and buried alive!'

Dr Stoppolini was, to say the least, shocked, but he and his students researched the message, and found that there was such a person buried at that cemetery. Pulling strings with the public pathologist, whom he knew, the professor was able to obtain an order for exhumation. On a grey October day, with the carrion birds cawing in the wet trees, a deep hole was dug, and the coffin lid forced open. What the professor saw was utterly appaling.