The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Advice and/or comments please (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

cosmopop1
View Profile
New user
85 Posts

Profile of cosmopop1
I did my first actually halfway decent video. See it at

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xi5P5jaSfcA

I am only a beginner and the video is not very good. Thanks

Cosmopop1
BrianMillerMagic
View Profile
Inner circle
CT
2050 Posts

Profile of BrianMillerMagic
First off, it takes a lot of guts to post a video on the Café anytime, especially if you're a beginner. So kudos for that. Second, I think the handling of the cards was pretty decent. Nothing too spectacular but it certainly wasn't sloppy. The biggest fault was the patter/presentation. As a beginner hopefully no one will come posting here bashing you for the presentation.

What you need to do is rehearse the presentation and scripting just as much, if not more, than the technique involved in whatever effect you're performing. Practice like you're going to give a speech. Then once you feel comfortable both delivering a smooth presentation and executing the technique at the same time, it's time to show some family/friends. As you perform this for real people a few times, you'll start to say things off the cuff that you probably didn't write into the script originally. Anything that works, or provides laughter, remember that and go back to edit the script including this new found patter. Anything that doesn't work, remember that it didn't work and make sure not to do it again.

Also make sure that the script makes sense and that you're not just saying words. I would have to watch the video again to pick apart the script, but I do remember that some of the things you said didn't seem to make sense with what you were doing.