The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Rings, strings & things » » rope tricks for kids (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

graemesd
View Profile
Veteran user
369 Posts

Profile of graemesd
I've been doing ring on rope for kids for about ten years and am now thoroughly bored with it though the kids aren't. Suggestions please and I refuse to do professors nightmare
Tony
View Profile
Veteran user
Los Angeles
303 Posts

Profile of Tony
Check out Daryl's Expert Rope Magic Made Easy - 3 volumes. Good stuff. There are others which are also very good.
stevehw
View Profile
Veteran user
Collinsville, Mississippi
303 Posts

Profile of stevehw
Just curious, why do you refuse to do Professor's Nightmare?
Daryl does have a nice ending for it. Much better than what I have seen previously.
But a good comedy cut and restored rope seems to go over well with the kids too.
Also, you might check out the rope video put out by Patrick Page. I like it.

Steve
graemesd
View Profile
Veteran user
369 Posts

Profile of graemesd
I have played with professors nightmare in many guises and it never gets the response that it deserves. The kids are like 'so what' and the adults have seen it before
I'm clearly not presenting it to it's full potential
RayBanks
View Profile
Special user
Nassau Bay, TX
533 Posts

Profile of RayBanks
Quote:
On 2003-02-02 19:01, graemesd wrote:
...and am now thoroughly bored with it though the kids aren't

Seems like to me we are supposed to entertain the audience and if the audience likes it that's what matters.

There are several things I do that I do not particularly like but everyone I do it for likes it so I keep on doing it.

If you don't get the proper response from Professors Nightmare it must be in the presentation and/or patter. I have several different stories I use depending on the audience and it has never failed to work well.

Smile
-------------