The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Finger/stage manipulation » » Beginning Card Manipulation (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

fallout
View Profile
New user
30 Posts

Profile of fallout
Hi, I'm just starting out in card manipulation and I have a few questions. I browsed other similar topics but I have specific questions that I would like a little more clarity on.

A little background first: So far, I know how to do and am continuing to practice the back palm, sidegrip production, backpalm production (approx. 10-15 cards), and fan splitting. I've been learning from Jeff Sheridan's DVD (funny guy...I like how he goes "bloop!" after he does a production).

The main question I have is about the type of card...

I'm currently using Poker Size Bicycles. So far, they have been fine. It's just they need to be powdered again because they don't fan very well. However, holding more than, oh, 15 cards can be a pain because they are so stiff, and the cards have been broken into.

As I read more about manipulation, I came upon manipulation cards and fanning cards. What is the difference between the two? I bought the Julia Chen manipulation cards but I cannot use them because they are wayyyy to small.

Another question, what is the size that most of you use? I see that most manipulation cards are bridge size, so I'm guessing that's what most people use??

A question about Bee playing cards: Jeff Sheridan uses them, and from other posts it seems it's a common choice. How are these different from poker sized Bicycles?

Thank you.
chrisgali
View Profile
Regular user
151 Posts

Profile of chrisgali
Hey!
I`ve been doing card manipulation for about 2 years. Here are my points I`ve learned, seen and tried!

McBride is my favorite teacher! He`s great!! Buy his dvds (Art of Card Manipulation Vol.1-3) It's the best to learn I think!

I also have Sheridan's work. It's also great but not as much material as on McBrides!