The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Notes from a Designer's Logbook - by George Ledo » » Stage lighting: understanding the basics (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

George Ledo
View Profile
Magic Café Columnist
SF Bay Area
3042 Posts

Profile of George Ledo
***WARNING*** Smile

This article is about stage lighting, not about stage lighting equipment. I’m going to discuss the very basics of stage lighting first, and then move into how it is used and how it can be used to create dramatic effects. However, except for a couple of brief instances, I’m going to avoid mentioning equipment at all.

I’m a set designer, not a lighting designer. Yes I studied lighting design (we were taught that the set and the lights need to be one integral whole, and ideally be designed by the same person), and yes I’ve lit a few shows, but I discovered very early that my interest is in the visual images and how they contribute to the story, and not in the equipment required to get there. This is the main reason I moved away from lighting; lighting designers need to keep up with the constant improvements in equipment (their primary tools) even as they consciously try to avoid letting the tail wag the dog. Even today, when a lighting designer starts talking about the latest and greatest in equipment, I usually remember that I need to do something in the next room.