The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Card magic, more advanced (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Koko
View Profile
New user
3 Posts

Profile of Koko
Hy you all!

I'm not so new to magic, but I've choosen card magic as my profession and I'm a bit stuck. I learnd the basics, and few tricks, but I don't find any really good tricks to preform anywhere at any time with any deck of cards. I'd like to learn many moves, but besides that I need tricks that go with that moves(just to practise move, an for move to take any effect). I need some suggestions for books, that will give me knowledge about card magic (history and all), and a bit more advanced moves like double lift and those beginners stuff. I'd need some guidance or smt. to proceed on higher level of card magic. I'm not a beginner, and I'm not an expert...somwhere in betwen, lost in material I have, becuase I don't know what knowledge is usefull do porceed further.

tnx:)

Koko
AngeloR
View Profile
Elite user
441 Posts

Profile of AngeloR
For some of the best instruction on dozens of important sleights, you should read one or more volumes of Card College, by Giobbi. There are 5 volumes and they are $30 - $40 each.

For tricks, my guess is that Harry Lorayne's Close-up Card Magic would be perfect. Overall, the effects are more than beginner-level but quite doable and are very well-explained. You can probably pick his book up for $20- $30. Really, almost anything by Lorayne would be a good purchase.

(BTW, prices above are estimates for new copies. Used copies much cheaper might be available).

Hope this is some help.
Loual4
View Profile
Special user
Montreal, Canada
670 Posts

Profile of Loual4