We Remember The Magic Caf We Remember
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Table hoppers & party strollers » » A couple of questions (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Matty Moriates
View Profile
New user
71 Posts

Profile of Matty Moriates
Hello everyone,

So I am studying to be a restaurant magician. I say studying because I am just beginning and I know that I have at the very least a year before I can start actually working in restaurants. I am not a beginner in magic, but I am in restaurants. I have read a lot on the subject (and I have plenty more to read and learn) so I have a good idea about what I need to be working towards. But I do have a few questions:

1) This is probably my most basic question and may sound like a stupid one, but I have no idea what it is like so I gotta ask. How do you keep track of the tables that you already performed for?

2) I know that the presentation of an effect is far more important then the effect itself. I know that you need to connect with your audience first and foremost. But I am having trouble figuring out how to do this. Basically, how to hone my people skills. Where can I learn to truly connect with my audience?

3) What are your oppinions on scripting? I've read arguments on both sides (loose scripting vs. a set script). I feel like I should have a set script, but be able to improvise. I think that once I get more experience I will have a loose script but I don't know. Is this what you found happened with you?

Those are basically what I can think of right now. Some might be pretty basic answers, but I figures I might as well ask and get them answered instead of trying to search and possibly guess for the correct answers to these questions. I really appreciate all the help I can get. Thanks in advance.

Take care,
Matty
-3-
Ethan
View Profile
Regular user
UK
142 Posts

Profile of Ethan
Quote:
On 2007-08-01 03:29, Matty Moriates wrote: