The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Polly wants a cracker... » » Dove pocket (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

jokerthehoudini
View Profile
New user
66 Posts

Profile of jokerthehoudini
Hey everyone I'm kind of new to dove magic I got some good meterial but I don't know where to put my dove pockets at . like how far or how close to the opening of the jacket.thanks for your help and sorry for my spelling.

Henry
Dave Scribner
View Profile
Assistant Manager
Lake Hopatcong, NJ
4854 Posts

Profile of Dave Scribner
The exact location is up to you. Whatever is comfortable and works in your act. I know some guys that position them back a little from the edge of the coat while others have them near the edge. Mine sit about 2" back and are at a slight angle. Some magicians prefer the pocket to be straight and level.

It's also a matter of preference how high or low to place them. That all depends on your act and how you intend to product them.

I guess what I'm trying to say is that there is really no one answer to your question. Every dove worker is different.
Where the magic begins
Koenraad
View Profile
New user
Europe
59 Posts

Profile of Koenraad
It also depend on what kind of costume you use and your body figure (heavy built, small, long, ...).

Best way to find out is first using safty pins to find the best position.
Best posision is; if doves come out quick, if your costume do not move when producing, if you can not see the shape through your jacket and not flashing when making gestures. Check this out in de mirror or on camera.

Just as Dave, mine are also 2" back. I use the General Grant pockets they have a unique and perfect desing.

-Koenraad
Dave Scribner
View Profile
Assistant Manager
Lake Hopatcong, NJ
4854 Posts

Profile of Dave Scribner