The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » I'm a beginner (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
dans595
View Profile
New user
24 Posts

Profile of dans595
Hello,

I'm a beginner. I'm decent at handling cards comfortably. I haven't read a book on sleight yet, but I can do a few basics like moving cards from top to bottom, or vice versa. Well, I picked up a Svengali deck at a fair. I've developed a decent routine with the Svengali and I'm looking to expand (I also made a horrible tapered deck with an exacto). I really like how coin vanishes look, and I'd especially like to be able to do one impromptu. I ordered Bobo's Modern Coin Magic, so I suppose that is my next order of business. I have a heavy academic load on the plate (junior in the pure mathematics major at Berkeley), so reading a lot of books and spending a lot of time aren't easy for me to do. I'm not looking for a challenge-free hobby, but I will definitely want to take it more casually. What should I look into next? I was considering a thumb tip and some silks. The style I'd like to pursue is definitely impromptu, not carrying to many decks around, etc.

Also, can the revolution coin vanish be done in gymshorts + tshirt (no pockets). If not, is there a technique that works under those conditions (granted, it seems a tall order)?

Thanks,
Daniel
tnscot
View Profile
Loyal user
220 Posts

Profile of tnscot