The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Professional Beginnings in Mentalism (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

brainchild
View Profile
Loyal user
Ideological Bigot
259 Posts

Profile of brainchild
My interest in mentalism is that of a hobbyist. I am fascinated by it but will probably never make a living at it. I wonder how many people here are in a position like myself, where you have another occupation that pays the bills, and how many here are professional mentalists?

On that same note, how did you get your start performing mentalism 'professionally'? What kinds of places do you perform (restaurants, corporate, etc.), and how often?

Thanks in advance.
Blindside785
View Profile
Inner circle
Olympia, WA
4540 Posts

Profile of Blindside785
I am in the same position. I am a hobbyist at heart and perform for the love of performing.
Slim King
View Profile
Eternal Order
Orlando
18028 Posts

Profile of Slim King
When my income as a mentalist exceeds my current salary, I will be taking the plunge...Until then, I have bills to pay Smile
THE MAN THE SKEPTICS REFUSE TO TEST FOR ONE MILLION DOLLARS.. The Worlds Foremost Authority on Houdini's Life after Death.....
brainchild
View Profile
Loyal user
Ideological Bigot
259 Posts

Profile of brainchild
I guess most people here are in a similiar situation.
Davro
View Profile
Veteran user
UK
319 Posts

Profile of Davro
I am mainly a magician with a 'Mind Reading' act

Best Wishes, David
Best Wishes, David
<BR>
<BR>Mid way this way of life we're bound upon, I woke to find myself in a dark wood, where the right road was wholly lost and gone.
IAIN
View Profile
Eternal Order
england
18807 Posts

Profile of IAIN
I have a full time normal job, but I work hard as a mentalist, managed to land a book deal, and have a few devices coming out too...