The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Almost Newbie (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Sipa
View Profile
New user
Watford UK
7 Posts

Profile of Sipa
Hi all,

I wouldn't say I'm a beginner, but I could certainly use some general pointers. I registered here a year ago and not long re-appeared to continue my personal project.

I have many memories of my grandfather, but besides the drinking and smoking in a pub in the roughest part of Liverpool, he showed me a couple of magic tricks. I became hooked on the spot and haven't stopped.

I'd never had a public performance and never made any money from it until January this year. I flew to Mauritius to marry my fiance who was Mauritian. I met all 50 million members of her family but found one big problem. I couldn't speak the language. I researched what I could, but the Mauritian Creole just isn't documented!

I turned to another form of communication... I mixed the few tricks I knew, with a few of the Creole words I knew and seriously knocked some socks off! I became a local celebrity and nearly missed my wedding.

On my return, I learned a few things from the locals there and mixed them into my act. I'm keen to perform in social situations rather than money making. I do however, despite practicing, keep getting caught out or run out of ideas. This is more a symptom of being put on the spot over lack of practice. I push the boat out, panic and fall in almost every time. It's very different when it's people I know over the Mauritians I'd just met.

Any advice is appreciated. I'm trying to join WAM club in Watford (UK) at the moment although noone's getting back to me. (please someone get me a contact in the club who has the power to invite me along!)