The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The little darlings » » Need Ideas (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Rickbc
View Profile
Regular user
160 Posts

Profile of Rickbc
Greetings all
I've been doing magic for adults for about 20 yrs, some stuff for my kids. I've been asked to perform birthday parties at the local toy store for 8-9 yr olds. But I'm not sure what would be fun.

I enjoy close-up cards, coins and sponge balls. I wonder if anyone has any ideas for me.

Thanks

rick
MB's effects are at
www.vinnymarini.com
Father Photius
View Profile
Grammar Host
El Paso, TX (Formerly Amarillo)
17161 Posts

Profile of Father Photius
Cards don't work too well with kids that age, some coins might work, spongeballs will play well. You need very visual tricks. Attention spans are short at that age. Box magic works well with that age. They like animals so if you can produce a bunny , or birds, or some other small animal that generally plays well. Paper balls over the head, 20th Century Silks, egg bags, squared circle, linking rings, run rabbit run, hippity-hop rabbits, stratosphere, passe passe, dove pans that produce candy, or small animals, magicians clothes line, all play well with that group.
"Now here's the man with the 25 cent hands, that two bit magician..."
MagicB1S
View Profile
Inner circle
Knoxville Tenn.
1039 Posts

Profile of MagicB1S
I Think Cards work well for 8-9 year olds. If they were younger then I would agree not to use cards. I would keep the card tricks simple. The rest of photius list also would work well for that age group. Also don't forget the magic coloring book, appearing or disappearing wand, vanishing silk, Rope Magic, change bag, Mismade flag just to name a few.
"There are Tricks To All Trades.... My Trade is all Tricks"

"An amature practices until he gets it right. A Professional Practices until he can't get it wrong"

www.Themagicchest.webs.com
bobswislosky@yahoo.com
Rickbc