The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Grand illusion » » Bullet Catch Question (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Kent Wong
View Profile
Inner circle
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2458 Posts

Profile of Kent Wong
The recent thread on the bullet catch got me thinking about "modern" presentations of this effect. Generally, the spectator signs a bullet, it gets loaded in a gun, and the spectator fires it at the magician, only to have the magician catch the bullet in his mouth. The marked bullet supposedly proves it is the same one that was previously chosen.

My question or concern lies in the logic of signing a bullet. Now, I'm no gun expert but a bullet seems to be comprised of 2 parts: the projectile and the casing. The casing is usually dislodged from the gun as the projectile moves toward the target. But it's the casing that is signed.

So, in a bullet catch, shouldn't the marked casing be found on the floor by the spectator?

Kent
"Believing is Seeing"
<BR>______________________
<BR>
<BR>www.kentwongmagic.com
Dynamike
View Profile
Eternal Order
FullTimer
24098 Posts

Profile of Dynamike
It was performed like that with Penn and Teller.
leapinglizards
View Profile
Inner circle
1254 Posts

Profile of leapinglizards
I believe the bullet was often marked by scratching it or some such. Or you could do it like Carl Skeenes and actually catch the bullet.
Leaping Lizards!!! Who knew it was possible.
<BR>
<BR>www.LeapingLizardsMagic.com
la9
View Profile
New user
71 Posts

Profile of la9
Just wondering if a dozen or so people have died doing this trick or is it a myth to build the suspense.

I found the other thread and see it is all true......
Kex
View Profile
Special user
Twin Falls, ID
578 Posts

Profile of Kex
Penn and Teller's routining of the Bullet Catch was great. Both the projectile and casing were marked. Both were also verified. I'm sure I've seen it on youtube.
nucinud
View Profile
Inner circle