The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The side walk shuffle » » College Student Job? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
r4bid
View Profile
Veteran user
386 Posts

Profile of r4bid
Ok well I am going off to college next year and the smallest place I am applying to has about 10,000 students. I figure that my time in college would be an excellent venue for street work as I could always go out into the surrounding city and start up a few shows.

So far I am only a hobbyist magician with just a few actual performances under my belt (birthday parties and at school). Is street magic a wise direction to go in? I am going to need some extra cash to pay off loans and buy whatever I can without going into tons of debt.

Basically what I am asking is:
Can I realistically expect to make more performing street magic than I would working at a restaurant as a waiter?
I would also really appreciate a few pointers as to where I should start if you guys think it is a good idea. Right now I am a card and coin guy and a total newbie to street performances, what do I need to know to do street shows?
Kozmo
View Profile
V.I.P.
5473 Posts

Profile of Kozmo
I don't know. Are you any good? I feed my family doing magic. Where are you going to school? Are there a lot of tourists? What's the population of the town? Don't count on students to take care of you, they don't have any money.

koz
Tor Egil
View Profile
Elite user
Norway
495 Posts

Profile of Tor Egil
Performing on the streets is really tough. You say you are a hobbyist. To perfomre on the streets you have to be really good, if you think youre good then youre probably not good enough.It is a very tough crowd. I don't think you should be heading for the streets. You said you work as a waiter. Ask the manager at the restaurante you are working at if it would be okay for you to do some magic. That way you can earn some extra cash.
r4bid
View Profile