The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Nothing up my sleeve... » » New in coins, and I have some questions... (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

kcg5
View Profile
Inner circle
who wants four fried chickens and a coke
1868 Posts

Profile of kcg5
I am new to coin work. I mostly work with cards, but I have a job with children (some in special education) and sometimes the tricks are over their heads. Coins are much more visual, and I know many of the moves are harder to perform than cards.

Someone recommened david roths dvd to me. I bought the first volume, and it has taught me alot. I also have bobos- regarding that, do you guys think that the coin in a classic plam should be disloged by a tap on the top of the hand holding the coin? I am having problems acting as thou I have just placed, dropped, thrown a coin into either hand. Any one have any suggestions on this problem?

What is "the expert at the card table" for card workers? Are david roths dvds some of the best out there?

regards, kevin

HAPPY THANKSGIVING
Nobody expects the spanish inquisition!!!!!

"History will be kind to me, as I intend to write it"- Sir Winston Churchill
mfeld
View Profile
Elite user
San Francisco
457 Posts

Profile of mfeld
There really aren't many good "introductory" coin books.
Bobo's new modern coin magic is probably the best compendium, that or David Roth's Expert Coin Magic.

But how old are the kids. Under a certain age, they just have a hard time understanding what is and what is not possible, so neitehr cards nor coins really appear as "magic"
Michael Feldman
www.michaelfeldman.com

Or follow me on Twitter - @magicianmike
And Instagram - @magicianmichaelfeldman

Check out my newest book with Ryan Plunkett: A New Angle
https://www.ryancplunkett.com/project/anewangle
Father Photius
View Profile
Grammar Host
El Paso, TX (Formerly Amarillo)
17161 Posts

Profile of Father Photius