The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The little darlings » » Party on a school night: and other things I am blaming on the parents (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
toomuchmagic
View Profile
Special user
534 Posts

Profile of toomuchmagic
(Sorry in advance about the novel length post.)

So I have had myself a nice long streak of birthday parties going without a hitch ...until last night.

Let me first say that I have been doing this for quite a few years and last night was the first Birthday show on a week night. I would like to label it a mild disaster, and I only can blame myself for about 50% of it.

Prologue: Mom was a stickler. Asked for references...called them....liked them...but still tried to haggle price. had to have the party ON the date of sonny boy's birthday.

I arrived early as I always do, allowing time to set up my show. I was scheduled to start at 6:30, arrived at about 6:05. This was a PACKED house. Mom shows me the room where she wants me...which is tiny and FULL of people...primarily small children. I decide it is best to 'assemble' my show on their large porch while the children are eating their pizza and running around.

6:15 Mom says..."are you going to start soon," to which I reply that I was shooting to start at 6:30 as planned.

"It isn't 6:30 yet? Gee I just thought it was, there are so many kids in here I don't know what to do." So I tell her I will hurry and start asap.

I bring my table into the room, leaving still several of my props outside, when grandma yells "Ok the magician is starting everyone watch!" I say no wait, I still have to get a few more things. Probably 3 more trips. I return after trip 1, and she goes, "ok hurray he is back everyone watch he is going to make stuff disappear."