The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Rings, strings & things » » Yigal Mesika's Loops and Lighting (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

JMagi
View Profile
New user
46 Posts

Profile of JMagi
Hello all,

I recently received my set of Yigal Mesika's loops in the mail Smile. This is my first time with any sort of IT, and I am amazed at how near it comes to really being invisible.

Anyway, to my question. In the instructions, it warns to pay attention to lighting, but does really elaborate. What kind of lighting and backgrounds are good and which are bad? I can't really judge this on how well I can see them because I know what I am looking for.

Thanks,
JMagi
Dr Mage
View Profile
Veteran user
Southern California
332 Posts

Profile of Dr Mage
I've noticed that flourescent lighting can be a bit of a problem with the loops.
What is the color of magic?
JMagi
View Profile
New user
46 Posts

Profile of JMagi
OK. What else should I watch out for? What is the best background for loops effects? Is it better to use a background with different colors or a black close up pad or a white shirt, or what?

Thanks,
JMagi
richgerb86
View Profile
Loyal user
Reading, Pa.
204 Posts

Profile of richgerb86
Watch out for any strong overhead lighting, also bright sunlight. I almost got caught a couple times doing effects outside. I never really had a problem with any kind of back round.
Larry Davidson
View Profile
Inner circle
Potomac, MD
5262 Posts

Profile of Larry Davidson
Generally, it's the lighting BEHIND you that's a problem. Situate yourself so there isn't strong lighting behind you, or if there is, use your body to block it. Also, a dark patterned background is best.
JMagi
View Profile
New user
46 Posts

Profile of JMagi
I appreciate everyone's help. So if outside, I guess it is best to perform in your shadow.