The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Palming and avoiding getting caught (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
marco_venier
View Profile
New user
5 Posts

Profile of marco_venier
Hi,
When palming something, what should I do if the spectator wants to see my hands empty?
What can I do? I know the all around vanish from Off the Cuff, or pitch and ditch it or I could maybe sleeve it?
As a beginner I am not comfortable with any of the methods. Please advise, what is the best.

Thanks,
Marco

Smile
alexhui
View Profile
Inner circle
Hong Kong
1954 Posts

Profile of alexhui
Practice at home and 'Practice' before the real audience is the only way. There is no shortcut in magic. So if you think you work best with sleeves or whatsoever, practice it alot and get confidence by performing it regularly. Also,you palm the thing whenever you can and vanish it completely whenever you like. Do it all day. Practicing for a month should help you get the feeling of the move.

Alex
To support 100% honest and unbiased reviews: Donate by PayPal

For BRUTALLY HONEST consultation for your upcoming projects, PM me.

YouTube: Alex Magic Review
YouTube: Themis Magic World
Instagram: @AlexMagicReview
Instagram: @ThemisMagic
Harry Murphy
View Profile
Inner circle
Maryland
5367 Posts

Profile of Harry Murphy
Part of the secret to successful palming is to be doing something with the dirty hand. For example, in a cups and balls routine, a wand is usually held by the hand holding an extra ball.

A second technique is for the dirty hand to be going somewhere. That is, the palmed object is in a hand that is traveling from point “A” to point “B” for some reason. Perhaps moving to simply pick up an object.

Third, palming is not forever. Palming should be used only for the shortest period of time necessary.