The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Spectators needed (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Hushai
View Profile
Elite user
St. Louis, Missouri, USA
433 Posts

Profile of Hushai
I am a perennial beginner, so I feel justified in posting here, even though I've been interested in magic since I was 6, and I'm now 60. Smile My question has to do with a fascinating quotation from an old interview with the late, great Orson Welles that appeared on the Tannen's blog recently. Mr. Welles said that he never did much AMATEUR magic because he didn't have any friends who were interested in magic. Since he was a famous magician in his time, I take it that he meant that he did PROFESSIONAL magic, performing for paying audiences rather than for the amusement of friends and family.
I am not Orson Welles, by a vast distance, but he and I have at least this one thing in common: I don't have any family or friends who really like to see magic performed either, not even by an accomplished magician (which I have never really been). And, of course, UN-like Orson Welles, I am not a professional magician either. Beginners are always told to start out performing for family and friends -- but if they are not available, what is a beginner to do? I don't want to be tiresome to the people around me and pester them to see the tricks I'm working on. So, who to show them to? I guess this is one good argument for joining a magic club, or otherwise getting some NEW friends who do appreciate the art of magic so as to have willing spectators. Does anyone else have this problem? Where do you find people to watch your magic?
Father Photius
View Profile
Grammar Host
El Paso, TX (Formerly Amarillo)
17197 Posts

Profile of Father Photius