The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » You're a what now?.... (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

C.W.G.
View Profile
Loyal user
275 Posts

Profile of C.W.G.
Just wondering as to what are the funniest responses you guys have gotten when you told someone you are a mentalist or that you perform mentalism....

Here in Ireland people (rightly so) link the word mental with mad people... As in "Your mental lad",

So sometimes trying to explain "mentalism" to people they think your about to do either a crazy stunt.... Or go completely nuts mid show.

Anyone got any funny's here?
Rupert Bair
View Profile
Inner circle
?
2112 Posts

Profile of Rupert Bair
Lol, Finny, I just tell them I'm a body language expert Smile

Saves the hassle.
C.W.G.
View Profile
Loyal user
275 Posts

Profile of C.W.G.
Good one Rupert... I actually stay away from any terms nowadays except the word magician.

I think that lay people just bunch it all into the one anyway. Plus if you really had "these powers" you wouldnt bunch your self into a group with other mentalists. I think using that term kinda cheapens what the effect of what we do (just my opinion, not looking to step on any toes here!).

I have an interview with Luke Jermay where he says that his business card just says Luke Jermay... I think that's a good idea although I dunno if he describes himself in some other way on his card?

Luke if your reading???
Rupert Bair
View Profile
Inner circle
?
2112 Posts

Profile of Rupert Bair
I have the same thing. Mine just says Matt Colman. that's it, then my corporate card also has my website on.
Daniel Nicholls
View Profile
Veteran user
UK
390 Posts

Profile of Daniel Nicholls
My card says Daniel Nicholls, Better than you. It doesn't I'm just kidding. Although that's not a bad idea.... no wait.... yes it is.
Close your eyes. Open your senses.
Jerskin
View Profile
Inner circle
2487 Posts

Profile of Jerskin