The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Did you start magic 'later' in life? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3~4~5 [Next]
rockwall
View Profile
Special user
762 Posts

Profile of rockwall
Hi, I'm turning 52 next week and I just started studying magic about a year and a half ago. I know that many, many magicians got their start when they were in their teens or younger. I'm curious who of you started later in life, lets say past their 20's? Also, if you started later, have you taken it past the amateur stage into professional performing?

This week I performed my first show for some cub scouts and today I performed a birthday show for my wife’s niece. Next month I’m performing another scout show for my wife’s sisters cub scout troop. All of these shows were volunteer but the feedback I got was very good and has got me to thinking that this could turn into a part time gig. I’m really enjoying myself and wouldn’t mind a little extra cash to help pay for the addiction.

Mike
Jon_Thompson
View Profile
Inner circle
Darkest Cheshire
2404 Posts

Profile of Jon_Thompson
I've only been into magic and mentalism seriously for about 3 years, but in that time I've written four books and recorded a DVD. I'm 41, so maybe anything's possible!

I came from a lifelong love of psychology and so that's reflected in my mentalism, rather than the usual apparatus and techniques. I never learned sleight of hand at an early age, hence my proficiency with the stripper deck, for which I've written over 20 sleights. So, maybe not knowing what I'm doing has got me further in a short time than knowing what I'm doing!
Jaz
View Profile
Inner circle
NJ, U.S.
6111 Posts

Profile of Jaz
My journey began some 20 yrs. ago when I was in my mid-30s.