The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Magician as a career? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Malus
View Profile
New user
68 Posts

Profile of Malus
Hi, I have been in magic for a few years now. I would say I am an amateur still, doing it just for fun. And I was wondering if people can give me some tips/suggestions to get me started to work as a magician. I was looking in the forum trying to find some posts on this subject, but no luck there. Any tips or suggestions would be helpful, or if you know posts that talk about it please let me know. Thank you very much.
Malus.
The Awesome One
View Profile
Regular user
Gold Coast, Australia
174 Posts

Profile of The Awesome One
It depends on what style of magic you do and how you want to perform.
Win if you can, lose if you must, but always cheat.
Dynamike
View Profile
Eternal Order
FullTimer
24148 Posts

Profile of Dynamike
What field of magic are you looking forward to major in, kid's parties, restaurants, close-up, adult stand-up, stage illusions, school performances, etc? There are books and DVDs that you can learn from also. First we want to know your interest and desire so we will be leading you in the right direction. We will also help guide you to the right threads to those of your interest discussed the same thing previously.

What tricks are you presently performing?

A lot of people quit their job because they do not want 40 hours a week any more. Some magicians find out it was not as they expected. They are still working 40 hours a week but in their own business.
jimhlou
View Profile
Inner circle
3698 Posts

Profile of jimhlou
Do you perform the chair suspension just as it's shown?

Jim
MrHyde
View Profile
Special user
810 Posts

Profile of MrHyde
Malus , you need to get yourself over to the Tricky Business section of this site if you haven't already found it.

There are plenty of threads for people just like you there.