The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Magic lessons (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

xicepik
View Profile
Regular user
Montréal
117 Posts

Profile of xicepik
Hi all ! I'm a beginner in magic, and I didn't know if I should try taking lessons. Then, I decided that it could be a good idea, so today was my first lesson.

It was so pretty entertaining, amusing, and I learned a LOT of stuff : not just tricks, but how to make people not look at things that you don't want them to see, the presentation.. I recommend to everybody who is new to magic to take lessons, it's really cool ! And I'm pretty sure that it will teach me a lot of things that I could not learn with books !
Smile

Mark
Steven Steele
View Profile
Chief of Staff
1868 Posts

Profile of Steven Steele
Mark,

Welcome to the wonderful world of magic. I'm glad your lessons are working out. You will learn a lot very quickly going this route, but don't minimize what you might learn from books.

Many magicians (myself included) learned almost everything about the art from books, because (in my case) no magicians lived near me, there were no videos or DVDs, and there were no computers (read Internet). Books were our only method of learning and I must say, over the past few years we've seen quite a few great magicians.

Learn as much as you can, and ask us questions and when you're ready we'll let you know which books and videos will help you out.

Good luck,

Steven
Coram Deo
xicepik
View Profile
Regular user
Montréal
117 Posts

Profile of xicepik
Thank you for the encouragement !

I'm pretty sure that there are a lot of good magicians who read books, and who are probably a lot better than I'll ever be. But I think that with a teacher, it's really "easier" to understand all the complexity of the art and all the subtleties !
Steve Friedberg
View Profile
Inner circle
1402 Posts

Profile of Steve Friedberg
Icepik: