The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » The travelling entertainer - Public shows (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

scottds80
View Profile
Special user
Victoria, Australia
730 Posts

Profile of scottds80
Hi, I have a few questions about performing for the public in general.

For starters, I need to let you know where I am at with my magic career. I have drive & dreams of making this a full time career.

I am currently a self employed painter & decorator, 10 years in business and successful. I am a very independent one man show, and can handle business transactions quite well. I can handle bookkeeping & tax. Not a problem.
My magic as a hobby began nearly 4 years ago, and in the last year I have been increasingly getting word of mouth gigs at schools, community citizen clubs and home parties. I have often received strong encouragement to go further with this as a career, so that's a feather in my hat. I want to take the plunge (but carefully).

About me & my show: I am a one man gig, single 28 yo, I do not perform large scale illusions, I am totally family friendly, I do not have a flashy show with smoke & light effects. I am a parlour magician and I only perform magic shows 'commando act' style, where the effects I use pack small & fit into one box. I use a curtain backdrop for professionalism (great investment!) and a currently a portable sound system for music. My actual act is ready to perform, and that I am already doing.
I am yet to have a website done, get professional photos & literature created, and invest in a quality wireless microphone & sound system. I am not quite there yet.