The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » You are getting sleepy...very sleepy... » » Situation (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Hawk-Eye
View Profile
Loyal user
G'day from Australia
203 Posts

Profile of Hawk-Eye
Hi all,

I have an idea for an effect, involving hypnosis, and I would like to run it by you all to see if it's possible in the way that I describe it. (It's a card effect, but you won't need to have ANY knowledge of card magic effects/techniques to help me. Even if you despise such effects, please don't run away; as long as you are somewhat knowledgeable in hypnosis, you'll likely be able to assist. Note: I have very little knowledge of hypnosis, so apologies if I get the terms wrong.)

Here's the ideal situation:

--------------------------

The specator, a female, selects and notes card from the pack (a Queen). I tell the specator that we will use the Queen to represent her.

[Part 1] I begin to induce hypnosis and make the spec. feel tired, but instruct her to keep her eyes open. I then show that the Queen's eyes have closed.

[Part 2] The spectator begins to feel more and more tired, and eventually closes her eyes.

[Part 3] I intstruct her to open her eyes, asks how she feels etc... then tell her to watch as the Queen's eyes also slowly open.

Issues / Questions:

Is it possible to make a spectator feel tired without closing their eyes, as in Part 1? If so, will they likely be alert enough to register the change?

As I tell the spectator that the Queen represents her - and show that the Queen's eyes have closed - I feel I am making a subtle suggestion that she will do the same. Building on this theory, would it be possible/straightforward/reliable to, in Part 2, subtly get her to close her eyes - without actually telling her to do so? Or would telling her directly that she's going to get so tired that her eyes will close be much simpler? Does it even matter, in terms of performance?