The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Trick coin trickery » » Coin shell for beginner? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Malus
View Profile
New user
68 Posts

Profile of Malus
Hi I am getting more and more interested in coin magic and thinking it is about time to get a coin shell. Since coin shell is used in various interesting routines like 3-Fly, CoinOne, Silver Dream...etc. From what I have read so far, seems like Johnson is what I should get as my first set. I saw some threat that said Hopping Half can do more. As a coin magic beginner, I don't know what is the difference. Would you still recommend me to get one (or two?) half coin shell instead of other gimmick coins set? and yeah, do you think one coin shell is enough for me so far? Also I am just wondering are there any good website you recommend for me to buy the Johnson coin shell from?

And I am sure this is another beginner question as well..but what is difference between expended shells and unexpanded shells?

Thanks in advance. Looking forward to the world of coin magic Smile
Malus.
jordanl
View Profile
Veteran user
325 Posts

Profile of jordanl
Johnson makes a fine shell, think of it as quality clothing off the rack.

Hopping half is a set of coins, with 4 gaffs, including a shell. Its a great palce to start with, if too expensive just get a shell, one will be fine to start with, I never use multiple shells in 1 trick.

An expanded shell has been stretched so it can fit over a normal half. An unexpanded shell requires the inserts be turned down, Troy Hoosers recent Shell Shocked DVD is a good place to start.
sethb
View Profile
Inner circle
The Jersey Shore
2693 Posts

Profile of sethb