The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » A Large Magical Crowd (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

magicinaction
View Profile
New user
3 Posts

Profile of magicinaction
Hi there, I'm pretty new to magic, but I have decided to entertain a large audience (around 500 people) from a stage with magic tricks.

At my college, during an evening of entertainment to fundraise for local charities, I've been asked to fill three 5-10 minute slots - and because I'm not much good at singing or dancing, I have decided that magic will be the way to go!

Has anyone got any good "tricks" or illusions that I can amuse the audience with?! They don't have to be complicated - but just good fun to watch!

Also it would be good if I don't have to buy any magical props - I can get hold of regular everyday objects of course though.

Thank you very much for your help! Magical!
magicinaction
View Profile
New user
3 Posts

Profile of magicinaction
Even something like the "grey elephant from Denmark" (below) trick would be suitable. It doesn't have to be a completley magical trick (it would be magical if it could be) but as long as it entertains the audience for a while it'd be ok.

1) Think of a number between 1 and 10.

2) Multiply it by 9.

3) Add those two digits together so that you end up with a 1-digit number. (And whichever number they chose, the sum will add up to 9.)

4) Now subtract 5 from this number. (Of course they will end up with the number 4)

5) Work out the corresponding letter that matches this digit. For example, 1 would be A, 2 would be B and so on. (So naturally your victim will end up with D)

6) Now think of a country that begins with this letter. (Denmark is usually the first country that springs to mind because countries beginning with D are pretty sparse.)