The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Buried in Tricks - Help! (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

wackyvorlon
View Profile
New user
Sarnia, ON, Canada
72 Posts

Profile of wackyvorlon
I started playing with magic, boy, nearly a year ago I think. It's amazing that time has flown by so fast. I've followed the prevailing advice, and bought books primarily. I've got Mark Wilson's book, Joshua Jay's new book, Royal Road to Card Magic, Bobo, two volumes of Tarbell, Darwin Ortiz' Strong Magic, Magic for Dummies, etc. Piles of books.

This has lead me to an unexpected dilemma. Namely, I'm up to my neck in tricks. Each book has easily a hundred different tricks, many have more. I already have more tricks than I could possibly perfect in decades of practice. But in this plethora of tricks, it's hard to know which I should learn. I feel I should focus on a handful of tricks, and get them nailed down pat... but I just don't know which to choose. I have a strong interest in coin magic. Any thoughts the forum can provide would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
abc
View Profile
Inner circle
South African in Taiwan
1081 Posts

Profile of abc
Take three or four tricks that you like (not only card tricks) and put them together in a routine. That means they should flow into each other, there should be some form of a plot, you should try to change the patter to change your style and they should be entertaining in your hands.
It is impossible for another person to say which tricks you should learn because I have seen many magicians look horrible doing a great trick and I have seen that same magician look great doing a trick I thought was stupid when I read it.
Look at the effects you read and try to think why you like them and then use the part of the trick that appeals to you to make it your own.
Jonathan Townsend
View Profile
Eternal Order
Ossining, NY
27145 Posts

Profile of Jonathan Townsend