The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Practice methods? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
nelly
View Profile
Regular user
122 Posts

Profile of nelly
I'm quite new to magic, and I only do cards at the moment.

When I get in from work; I pick them up and practice moves like the Elmsley count, Riffle Pass up the Ladder, etc etc.
Do you use a system or a fixed process, like practicing all the tricks you know rather than just the sleights? Or both, or what?

I read on these forums that Darwin Ortiz practices 4/6 hours a day!!!!!

What do you do? Any help or information of the best way to practice would be massively appreciated. Thanks.
Arellion
View Profile
New user
England
26 Posts

Profile of Arellion
The best way is to pratice when doing something else, particularly false counts. Practice while reading, driving, walking, talking, watching tv, etc. This makes the moves more natural when you perform them, and stops you habitually looking at your hands. Just my opinion; obviously it isn't set in stone, it's not even set in jelly.
cheeto4567
View Profile
New user
74 Posts

Profile of cheeto4567
I agree that it is good to practice while you are doing other stuff, such as watching the tv or talking to the tv. I'm weird. But make sure you set aside time to actully practice the move or trick without any distractions, and with a camera or mirror. Otherwise, you are likely to just be repeatly doing the move incorrectly; and/or not aware of angle problems.
GeorgeG
View Profile
Inner circle
Thousand Oaks, CA
1019 Posts

Profile of GeorgeG
Although it is always nice to have a good stretch of time to concentrate on practising your magic, whether it be a routine or sleights; most of us live busy lives- and free time is in short supply. I keep props and a deck of card handy at work, so when an opportunity arises, I practice as long as I can.
denny_Corby
View Profile