The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Fanning? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Creanada
View Profile
New user
47 Posts

Profile of Creanada
Hi all,
I'm relatively new to magic and I've been able to learn a few basic flourishes like the Charlier Cut off Jeff Mc Bride's Art of Card Manipulation after I picked it up super cheap at a car boot sale, but no matter how hard I try ,I don't seem to be able to do any kind of proper fan. I can just about do a thumb fan and split fan with quarter of the deck, but no more cards or I mess up. I was thinking about getting Dante King's Fanning Tutorial, is it worth it?
Thanks a lot,
Mike
Mago Mai
View Profile
Elite user
Venezuela
485 Posts

Profile of Mago Mai
Mike
Why don't you try to use some fanning powder? It really makes card fanning easier.

Mago Mai
I invite all of you to share some of my magic on videos.Please, CLICK HERE
Jonatan_B
View Profile
New user
6 Posts

Profile of Jonatan_B
Well, you should make it without powder - or you can use new decks.

It's in the technique, I don't have the video but watch how McBride is holding the deck and his technique and you might want to try to copy him.
Mago Mai
View Profile
Elite user
Venezuela
485 Posts

Profile of Mago Mai
A new deck is another nice idea. Try to use it just for fanning.

Thanks,
Jonatan.
Creanada
View Profile
New user
47 Posts

Profile of Creanada
Thanks for the advice. I was thinking though, if I manage to fan the deck with fanning powder, does that mean I'll only ever be able to fan using powder?
Justin McWilliams
View Profile
1983 - 2005
New Jersey
157 Posts

Profile of Justin McWilliams
Well Creanada,

My suggestion to you would be to learn to fan with and without powder. That way you can use powder in your show, and if someone afterwards came up to you, and asked to fan their own cards to see if yours were fake, you can do it well.