The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Finger training (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3 [Next]
n3o
View Profile
New user
Valenciennes, France
44 Posts

Profile of n3o
Hi.
As a beginner, I would like to know if there's any guide/book/website about how to train my fingers/hand/palm so that I can be able to perform better, use my finger separately and gain the muscles I miss Smile
Maybe the trick is just practicing and the finger will learn accordingly… (thinking out loud)

Anyone has some input on this?
JamesTong
View Profile
Eternal Order
Malaysia
11213 Posts

Profile of JamesTong
I had long slim fingers before I started off with magic. But after years of being in the craft my fingers put on some muscles. They now have more flexibilities, strength and usefulness.

I guess it is the practices with a myriad of things, effects, routines, techniques, etc that got my fingers to where it is today.

There might be some books that someone else can suggest. I do not know any. Sorry I could not help.
The Amazing Noobini
View Profile
Inner circle
Oslo, Norway
1658 Posts

Profile of The Amazing Noobini
I don't think there is any reason to give your fingers a workout through any kind of training apparatus. Instead I agree that practicing the actual sleights/moves/techniques will train those muscles you actually need to perform them well. Train them to do exactly what you want them to do instead of just gaining strength.

For years music stores have sold those hand and finger training devices to novice guitar players. But I don't think any actual guitar heroes have actually used them. Smile

This has been discussed before here btw, so you might get lucky and find some reading on it if you search. Not always easy to make the search feature of these forums cooperate.
"Talk about melodrama... and being born in the wrong part of the world." (Raf Robert)