The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » F/X » » Best projector for stage show (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

sly2272
View Profile
Loyal user
263 Posts

Profile of sly2272
Can anyone give me some names and models that are good for stage. Wanted a rear projector and screen. Thanks.
Dan McLean Jr aka, Magic Roadie
View Profile
Special user
Toronto, Canada
798 Posts

Profile of Dan McLean Jr aka, Magic Roadie
I'm no video expert, sly2272, but I do know there are a couple of things to consider. What size will your image/screen be? How far will the projector be from the screen?
Dan McLean Jr
www.MagicRoadie.com
"Taking the mystery out of stage technology!"
ScottRSullivan
View Profile
Special user
874 Posts

Profile of ScottRSullivan
This is the best in my opinion:

http://www.red.com/nab/redray/

Though its a bit expensive, isn't available for sale yet, and is overkill for your needs probably. *grin*

Asking whats the best projector might be like asking what's the best mic or what's the best car.

They all have various advantages. Do you need high dynamic range, high resolution, high luminosity, portability, compatibility with legacy players? And Dan raised the right questions, too.
Mystical Matthew
View Profile
Elite user
Ohio
468 Posts

Profile of Mystical Matthew
I've been wondering the same thing... I'm guessing my needs might be a little different from the OP, but here goes...

1.) I need something with a reletively short throw distance as it would be used in the occasional cramped area.

2.) It needs to look good under normal lighting. If I turn out the lights for folks to see the projector they won't be able to see my act!

3.) It needs to be portable and durable enough to handle being traveled with.

4.) I'd like to have it project in 16:9 if at all possible.

5.) 40" - 60" size should suit my needs.