The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Nothing up my sleeve... » » How to bring in a gimmicked coin (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Kamaitachi
View Profile
New user
53 Posts

Profile of Kamaitachi
Hey,
I'm just starting out with coin magic, and I received my first gimmick today. I'd like to switch it for a spectator's coin, and I'm looking for a nice way to do it.

I bought MB's crimp change, but I think it's better for a visual change than an unnoticed switch.
Bobo's one handed switch needs a lot of cover, too.

What do you think about fingerpalming the coin in the other hand, and "false transferring" it? (is that the proper term? I just made it up)
Pablo_Amira
View Profile
Special user
Temuco, Chile
682 Posts

Profile of Pablo_Amira
Hi!
I recommend to you that you need to learn the basics
BOBO, David Roth, David Stone are the best
bye!

pd : "Shuttle pass" its the correct form
-------------------------------------------
Asombro...lo más elevado a que puede llegar el hombre

Johann Wolfgang Goethe
kardillusions
View Profile
Special user
Calgary, AB
544 Posts

Profile of kardillusions
Shuttle pass is the standard way. Also a pocket switch or sleeving could be used if you are uncomfortable with too much sleight of hand.

Scott.
www.hermitmagic.com
Hermit Magic Magazine
Instagram: @hermitmagicmag
Subscribe today!
Jaz
View Profile
Inner circle
NJ, U.S.
6111 Posts

Profile of Jaz
If you're switching in the same type coin then a casual and simple false transfer from hand to hand, one hand or turnover switch is best. You shouldn't make a magic moment or display out of the switch. It's not a visual 'magic moment' like when a coin transforms into another coin.
Mediocre the Great
View Profile
Inner circle
Rich Hurley
1062 Posts

Profile of Mediocre the Great