The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Frixion Pen (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

SShawUK
View Profile
Regular user
151 Posts

Profile of SShawUK
Firstly I'm a long time lurker, first time poster....be gentle.

I've been following a lot of the posts on here regarding Pentel's genius Frixion pens, and have no doubt many people have put them to some amazing uses. I've been messing around with one for several months now, and haven't really come up with anything amazing to date.

I've recently purchased an effect that shall remain nameless, the crux of which requires you to determine the colour of the spectators mentally selected card. The rest of the effect plays brilliantly, however, I've always been put off by the old "Your card is a red card, is it not?" ruse.

I thought I'd share this with the rest of the Café, as I've found it very useful this weekend when performing to a few of my more astute friends, and hope someone can put it to some use. It's by no means amazing, but I think its something I'll use, and hope someone else might get some benefit out of it.

So.....for those effects where it is essential early on to ascertain the colour of a chosen card, here is my spin on it using nothing more than a Pentel Frixion pen and my business card.

So spectator has a mentally selected card. I take one of my business cards out of my wallet and mimic writing something on it. In reality, I have already prepared this card with the word "Red" written in standard black ink and the word "Black" written in black Frixion ink. On the back of the business card, I have written, again in Frixion ink, "I knew you would choose a black card"....or words to that effect.