The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » How to gamble and win...?! (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Edward Cutting
View Profile
New user
I only have a measly
42 Posts

Profile of Edward Cutting
Good evening fellow fellows,

As a Masters student, I don't have much free time in which to perform. Therefore, in order to keep myself sharp in this craft and to help improve my performing in difficult conditions, I've decided to give busking a run for its money during the summer holidays. Also, the bit of extra cash can help feed my currently inappropriately sleeping cat. I've put together an act of about 20 minutes filled with effects I'm confident will please the hard to please public, as I've learnt from many of the busking threads here. I have one semi-new effect I'm trying to perform and I am having a bit of difficulty in putting the first part together.

The effect is this: There are two envelopes, one containing a $20 note and the other a piece of paper upon which "Sorry!" is written. A spectator is asked to choose one envelope and allowed to change his mind before he makes his final decision. At this point the envelopes are opened and lo-and-behold, he has lost. I give him a chance to till win the money by playing a little gambling game with me; here I perform a quick two minute gambling routine that has, as of yet, not let me down, except that one time when the watery defecation of a pigeon landed squarely on my spectator's forehead and I chose to give him the money for his spot of trouble. Bloody pigeons. Finally, I end with a prediction that is pretends that everything before-hand was not free will but "behavioral control" (we all have unoriginal moments, I'm afraid).