The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » So Happy together... » » Lecture wish lists. Who is your fav? Who do you want to see? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

johndraws
View Profile
Loyal user
Danville, Illinois
202 Posts

Profile of johndraws
I have been performing magic for years however, I am new to attending lectures. A friend of mine and fellow magician introduced me to what a lecture was. My first lecture was with Joshua Jay. I felt his lecture was fantastic. Very professional. Very down to Earth...entertaining and educational. I walked away with a few items I still use. Several strong usable pieces of magic taught. I have to say for the time...Joshua's was the best value because of the information and personal one on one time he spent. He set the bar for what I was to expect in the future.
I am a HUGE fan of Luke Jermay. I was flabergasted just to meet with Luke. I was able to talk with Luke and Ben Seidman after their lecture and even though it was in a terrible bar down the street....I think it was very cool to sit, eat have a beer as well as the opportunity to talk shop. Although my interest for Luke and his material was greater than Josh's, I felt the lecture fell short in quality, professionalism and general entertainment compared to Joshua's. I won't go in great detail with the issues...and definately no disrespect to Luke, let's just call it a bad night. Had little to do with the material. Ben's portion went over very well and I consider him a very professional entertainer. I left that lecture a bit suprised and a bit disappointed however, I was still glad I went. I would definately go to another Luke lecture, I hear the problems that he encountered in Chicago were not ordinary for Luke.