The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » How did you go Pro? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Aus
View Profile
Special user
Australia
950 Posts

Profile of Aus
Hi Guys

How did you go pro? I ask this because I'm interested to know how many magicians out there have taken a particular path that has lead to your success or failure, and what you would change if you had your chance again to do things right. Also how many of you used business plans to start your way into this profession and how many people went out there winging it.

I have an invested interest in these questions because I'm thinking of starting pro, and looking for the right path to go about it. I have come across a number of articles on the net saying that you must approach this with a business plan, and I'm currently reading a book on how to do that. I have been doing magic for over 12 years now as an amateur doing a few paid small scale shows here and there. However, now I want to move things up a notch and maybe turn full or part time pro.

Magically

Aus
Jon Gallagher
View Profile
Veteran user
Elmwood, Illinois
395 Posts

Profile of Jon Gallagher
For me, it was easy. I just flunked 26 out of 43 freshman English students, and my principal suggested I find another line of work.

I started to suppliment my magic income by delivering pizzas, until one day when I told my district manager how stupid she was.

Seems like going pro for me was easy. It's the staying pro that's the hard part.

Now pardon me while I go fix my box of generic macaroni and cheese for dinner.
www.jongallagher.com

Hey! I'm finally a Dot Com!
p.b.jones
View Profile
Inner circle
Milford Haven. Pembrokeshire wales U.K.
2642 Posts

Profile of p.b.jones
Hi,