The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Not very magical, still... » » Someone help me understand Mentos mints... (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

rossmacrae
View Profile
Inner circle
Arlington, Virginia
2477 Posts

Profile of rossmacrae
I'm working on a routine involving the (now-)famous reaction between Mentos mints and Diet Coke. Details later.

I have no experience with Mentos. Bought a roll and it didn't work. My son pointed to the work "chewy mints" on the label, and the candy coating (like a giant white M&M) and said that the Mentos I want are crunchy, and that they are also known to emit sparks of light when crunched in the dark. Went back to the grocery and could only find "chewy".

So please answer a stupid question: Do they make the original kind any more, and what do I look for or ask for to get the right kind?

Thanks.
See the BALLYCAST Sideshow Blog & Podcast

There is no "way to peace." Peace is the way.
Skip Way
View Profile
Inner circle
3771 Posts

Profile of Skip Way
I've been a Mentos fan for years and the only version I know is the chewy center type. If there's a "crunchy" version, I'm not aware of it.

(From Wikipedia) Jamie Hyneman and Adam Savage, known as "The MythBusters," explained that the fruit flavored Mentos produced a smaller reaction because the wax coating blocks the pits that allow nucleation. The plain mint Mentos give the best reaction. Diet colas are also preferred because they do not contain large amounts of sugar like regular colas. Sugar molecules help keep the carbon dioxide in solution, slowing the reaction. Artificial sweeteners in diet colas are much sweeter per molecule, and so make up a smaller proportion of the solution and allow a faster, more enhanced reaction.
How you leave others feeling after an Experience with you becomes your Trademark.

Magic Youth Raleigh - RaleighMagicClub.org
kcg5
View Profile
Inner circle