The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Periods & styles of Magic » » Just curious about RenFaires... (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Dr. Hoodwink
View Profile
New user
Eastern NC
42 Posts

Profile of Dr. Hoodwink
I'll admit my ignorance about RenFaires...I've only been to the one around Baltimore once and worked as a juggler at the NC faire back before it got big. I'm just curious about something.

Are RenFaires losing their historical focus? I see pirates and faeries and such as performers at just about every Faire I've looked at online, while I hear about requirements regarding historical accuracy posted on this forum.

Does this mean RenFaires are moving into more of a fantasy mode?

FYI, I'm a magic hobbyist with pretentions of putting on a show one day, but not at a RenFaire.

Regards,
Rob
Lion Dope
View Profile
New user
York PA
88 Posts

Profile of Lion Dope
In my experience, Ren Faires make an attempt to be historically accurate in very broad terms. Yes, there are some variety acts on the circuit that really push the envelope (i.e. Faeries, wizards, etc), but keep in mind that Ren Faires are first and foremost entertainment venues, not re- enactments. Every faire I've worked with has had a creative or artistic director, who pretty much dictates the degree of latitude that will be given.
In my opinion, it is the patrons who push faires toward the fantasy. I've seen patrons dressed up as faeries, hobbits, orcs, ents, Link (from the Zelda game), Rainbow Brite, "Matrix" Agents, Kiss, Imperial Stormtroopers, Doctor Who (actually this makes sense, because he can travel through time), etc. etc. If I had a dime for every bad "Jack Sparrow" costume I've seen, I'd be a rich man!
Mike
MagiUlysses
View Profile
Special user
Kansas City
502 Posts

Profile of MagiUlysses
Greetings and Salutations,