The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Need wisdom and advice to get where I want my magic to be (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Ed_Millis
View Profile
Inner circle
Yuma, AZ
2292 Posts

Profile of Ed_Millis
I need to refine my goals in performing magic, and the steps to get there.

I started out years back doing birthday parties. Not that I’m an expert - I think I did maybe six. Enough to realize that I do NOT want to be the “ultimate party magician”! I can do parties, and I’ll probably wind up doing some, but that’s not my goal.

I think want to do small stage shows in a whole-family setting. I envision something like a small club or restaurant type setting - families or groups at tables and me on stage. Maybe lights, maybe not - I can go without the whole curtains and lights setting.

I don’t mind performing for kids, but I don’t like an audience of just kids. Adults generally provide a more structured setting, and I do much better there than in the free-energy environment of a gang of poorly-supervised kids. That’s not just a lack of experience, although I know that’s in the mix - I simply do not like a disorganized event.

When my son was in junior high, the school did a dinner and play as a fund-raiser. I think that’s the setting I have in mind. Or we have a large “winter visitor” contingent, due to our mild AZ winters, and most of the winter resident venues have entertainment centers - I can see putting on a show there for the visitors and their grandkids. A classroom message show might be good, too - a more controlled setting than a birthday party, and a more consistent age grouping.