The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » My 1st Show... Help! (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Bill Thompson
View Profile
Elite user
Mississippi
422 Posts

Profile of Bill Thompson
I am an amateur and I mostly perform for friends and family, but I have never really set up an actual show. I have been asked to perform for friends at a party… (Living room so close-up and parlor) and I need to fill 30 to 45 minutes.

I would like to open with Linking Rings (Ninja routine) and close with Cups & Balls (Variation of Vernon's). Somewhere in the middle I want to do sponge balls (Daryl's from WGM).

Here are the other tricks I can pick from to fill out the show: Silk -to-Egg, Mongolian Pop-knot , Newspaper Tear (Gene Anderson), Rising Cards (Don Alan routine), In-A-Flash (Jay Sanke), Chicago Surprise (Whit Haydn), Twisted Sisters, NFW, Color Monte, Cigarette Thru Quarter, and Mismade flag.

I would appreciate any pointers or advice anyone can give me on how many of these would be enough to fill my time, which tricks to pick to do, and how to pick what order to do the tricks I pick...

Thanks,

Bill
"To let understanding stop at what cannot be understood is a high attainment.
Those who cannot do it will be destroyed on the lathe of heaven." - Chuang Tse
David Waldorf
View Profile
Regular user
Minnesota
132 Posts

Profile of David Waldorf
Choose some of the ones you really want to do, then blend the whole thing together into an Act. Make it flow from one effect into another, add in all the jokes, etc. Then, time yourself, and see where you are at.
That is my short answer.
Didn't your mother ever tell you not to believe anything you hear and only half of what you see?

From a Roy Rogers movie
Bill Thompson
View Profile
Elite user
Mississippi
422 Posts

Profile of Bill Thompson
Quote:
On 2009-12-03 13:24, David W wrote: