The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » Canadian Performer Insurance (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Skip Way
View Profile
Inner circle
3771 Posts

Profile of Skip Way
I have been gently and gratefully reminded of a performer's insurance plan with a Canadian office.

http://www.kidabra.org/insurance.html

KIDabra International is offering performer's liability insurance through Elite Risk to U.S. KIDabra members. The KIDabra website states that Elite Risk does have Canadian and U.S. office and offers coverage that is reportedly competitive with Specialty Performer's Insurance.

I have no experience with this plan, but it's another source to consider for our Northern friends and peers.
How you leave others feeling after an Experience with you becomes your Trademark.

Magic Youth Raleigh - RaleighMagicClub.org
RJE
View Profile
Inner circle
1848 Posts

Profile of RJE
Thanks Skip. It's good to know that there alternatives for Canadians to get their liability insurance.

Again, just want to remind my fellow Canucks, that the K&K policy offered here not only prohibits the use of fire of any kind (flash paper etc...) but it also prohibits the use of animals. So, it looks like if you use live birds (doves) or a rabbit, you will not be covered. Also, your props are not covered by liability insurance alone.

Be aware of the restrictions and do the right thing and get some liability insurance (if you don't already have some) before you even think of doing your next show.
Skip Way
View Profile
Inner circle
3771 Posts

Profile of Skip Way
Thanks, Rich.

Also keep in mind, that just because a carrier won't insure your use of live animals or fire effects, this does not mean that they won't cover other parts of your show.