We Remember The Magic Café We Remember
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Once upon a time... » » Teachers? (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Crowslide
View Profile
New user
50 Posts

Profile of Crowslide
I'm looking for magicians that are also school teachers. I'm wondering how you've integrated magic into lessons and curriculum. Or do you just practice on the kids? I'm a middle school teacher and so far I've just brought out the magic when there is a lull in the day.
puppeterry
View Profile
Regular user
Sanger, CA
114 Posts

Profile of puppeterry
In my substituting days, I used magic routines, storytelling, and puppetry as a reward for behavior/achievement ("If you don't kill me, I'll do something cool"). Once, I was lucky enough to work on somebody's unit on optical illusions--that was fun for all of us--and some teacher's worked tall tale units around a planned absence to bring me in as a resource.
TV Mc Arthur
The Librician
Fresno (CA) County Public Library
"They don't get better.....just faster."
coupcoupdaddy
View Profile
Inner circle
2466 Posts

Profile of coupcoupdaddy
Bless your heart for being a middle school teacher, crowslide!
foreign correspondent, z and lt

inner being worker
mrunge
View Profile
Inner circle
Charleston, SC
3717 Posts

Profile of mrunge
My wife is a middle school teacher and each year, at the end of that school year, she gets me to come in and entertain the kids. I'll show up, do a couple of quick effects and then get down to business. I teach them how to juggle and twist balloon animals! I pass out tennis balls to the kids to juggle and they end up all over the place. I then bring out a garbage bag full of pre-blown balloons and they go nuts. The whole day is CRAZY!!!

Mark. Smile
D. Yoder
View Profile
Loyal user
293 Posts

Profile of D. Yoder
I teach fifth grade in Lancaster, PA. There are two areas where I incorporate magic into our curriculum.