The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The International Brotherhood of Magicians! » » Is this right? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

magicmarie
View Profile
New user
20 Posts

Profile of magicmarie
I've just joined my local magic club. It seemed a great group of people until I went to our holiday party. There the club officers were reserved the best table and allowed to go through the banquet line first. I have also learned that they get preferential seating at all clubs event's, lectures, and shows and that the Club President not only gets into lectures for free but gets a dinner with the lecturer and the tab picked up by the club. When questioned I was told that these perks were put in place to encourage other members to volunteer to hold offices and that without them they have a difficult time finding new people to serve. I think this stinks to high heaven and reeks of elitism. But then I am new to this magic club thing and maybe this is just how they run. Has anyone else heard of a club doing such things?
mrunge
View Profile
Inner circle
Charleston, SC
3717 Posts

Profile of mrunge
Nope...never heard of it. Our club considers each member to be no more, or less, valuable than any other member. Everyone is treated the same whether they are an "officer" or not. It's too bad when someone accepts an officer position and then feels they are entitled to things and that, somehow, they have become important. As I have always said, we are, after all, just a bunch of big kids playing tricks on each other!

Mark.
tabman
View Profile
Inner circle
USA
5946 Posts

Profile of tabman
Glad to hear that all rings are not like that.