We Remember The Magic Café We Remember
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Books, Pamphlets & Lecture Notes » » General magic books for non-beginners (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

obi-wan
View Profile
New user
UK
83 Posts

Profile of obi-wan
Can anyone recommend some good general, intermediate to advanced (non-beginner), close-up magic books?

I have been doing magic for a few years now but have concentrated mostly on cards (knowing only a few coin and rubber band effects to add to them) and am now trying to expand my repetoire a bit as although I prefer card effects I am not sure that this is the general concensus of laypeople. The thing I look for most in a book are useable effects and not necessarily the newest or most difficult to master sleights. I enjoyed the AoA books and am looking for something with the same sort of mix of effects although maybe with a few less card effects and a bit more of everything else.

If anyone could suggest some books and give me a few details about them I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks Smile
Coolmagic
View Profile
New user
My mom...
67 Posts

Profile of Coolmagic
Have you ever read "Totally out of control" from Chris Kenner? if not, well that's a good book.

VCM Smile
Nir Dahan
View Profile
Inner circle
Munich, Germany
1390 Posts

Profile of Nir Dahan
Totally out of control is a killer book. Another book I love is the Amazing miracles of Shigeo Takagi. The vernon book of magic has material to keep you occupied for a life time.
CharlieC
View Profile
Elite user
488 Posts

Profile of CharlieC
Any of the recent magazine compilations would foot the bill....The Collected Almanac, Apocalypse, Penumbra(not compiled yet, but an awesome magazine if you want close up), etc.
"Whenever he gets in a fix he reaches into his bag of tricks.
Felix the cat, the wonderful, wonderful cat..."
Phred
View Profile
Regular user
118 Posts

Profile of Phred