The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Pulling a long stick from a hat! (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Chazmanski
View Profile
New user
3 Posts

Profile of Chazmanski
Hi. I am new to magic, though I have done some amateur magic tricks in public in the past. My idea right now is to mix this wonderful art with a Karate demo routine our karate club is doing. I want to make a 5-foot wooden stick, a bowstaff, appear. It could come from a hat, or from under a handkerchief, but it needs to appear so it can be used in the demo. There are other items to appear as well, but this is the most difficult.

I thought of pulling it through a hat close to the body (stick hidden in the Gi clothing), or through a table where it is hidden in one of the legs (though table is not that tall), or where would I find a rubber, bendable bowstaff that looks like a piece of wood when it is full elongated.

Any advice or help would be much appreciated!

Thanks.

Chazmanski
Metatron
View Profile
Elite user
Port Orchard, Washington
436 Posts

Profile of Metatron
Hello Chazmanski,

The closest thing I can think of right off the top of my head is the 8 foot appearing pole. I think you could make it shorter. But the problem is that doing a bo staff demo with it is out of the question. You would have to swap it for the real thing after the production.

View it here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=foY6wX1jCso

I will try to come up with a swap technique for you but need to know more about the performing conditions. Will you be on Stage, Can you stand behind a covered table while producing said staff, or is this in the dojo, out in the center away from any tables ...

Please explain in detail the environment and conditions that you will perform in. It will help me to design the effect for you.

Metatron
Chazmanski
View Profile
New user
3 Posts

Profile of Chazmanski
Hi Metatron: