The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » What went wrong (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
david12345
View Profile
Special user
714 Posts

Profile of david12345
I have been performing mentalism now for about 2 years. Most of the venues have been smaller parties of 30-60 people and well received. Last night I performed for a dinner of 300 people and I realized within 4 minutes of the 25 minute act that I lost half the room.
Looking over the video I think with a crowd that large I need more quick punches and wow factors. I opened with a quick 30 second introduction -
- think of a number between 1-10
- think of a fruit leading into a book test
Then I performed Chronologue and closed the show with a printed advertisement prediction via a chameleon chest that was loaded with info from each table.
How do I expedite these or any "mentalist" routine without losing impact?
MentalistCreationLab
View Profile
Inner circle
1528 Posts

Profile of MentalistCreationLab
David, while think of a number 1-10 may be a quick opener it has some problems. The biggest is they seen it before. This 1-10 thing may be part of the problem. Since the effect does not grab the attention of your audience enough to keep them in their seats.

The other problem is if your show was after dinner at a conference the people will get ready for the activities of that event scheduled late that evening. don't know what the venue was but it could be venue related. Something to look at.
Steve Suss
View Profile
Inner circle
1193 Posts

Profile of Steve Suss