The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Mental Card Effect (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

paisa23
View Profile
Inner circle
7293 Posts

Profile of paisa23
I met a magician in Vegas this week and he did an effect that I haven't seen in years. Now I am no novice to magic, but might be to some verbal commands. He used Ellusionist Tattoo for the revelation, but no cards in hands asked a woman (friend of mine) to think of a number, then color; then suit; then to say it out loud; then place your hand on my chest; there he revealed the 3 of diamonds on his chest.

Now mind you, I was drinking so I might have missed some parts. But I do not remember him limiting the choice. Maybe no court cards, but still that would give you a 2 to 9 range; everything else I got, I asked him and he told me he used some pre-work and I could have swore he said Banachek - Psychological Subtleties, but his accent was thick and I'm not sure if I heard him right. He also told me to look into the 14th step of mentalism. Any help would be great.
Anthony Jacquin
View Profile
Inner circle
UK
2220 Posts

Profile of Anthony Jacquin
The Gift - 14th Step to Mentalism is a book by Paul Brook. It will give you all you need and more.

Anthony
Anthony Jacquin

Reality is Plastic! The Art of Impromptu Hypnosis
Updated for 2016

Now on Kindle and Audible!
paisa23
View Profile
Inner circle
7293 Posts

Profile of paisa23
Reading a review on it and it looks pretty good.
OnTiltSoon
View Profile
Special user
Barcelona
543 Posts

Profile of OnTiltSoon
It is Smile
- Joaquín Gasa Thomas
Waters
View Profile
Inner circle
2508 Posts

Profile of Waters
The above effect could certainly be performed with suggestion, but if he said pre-show, definately go with the above recommendation. It is the best resource around.

Sean
Garrad
View Profile
Elite user
446 Posts

Profile of Garrad
You could probalby do this with Silent Running