The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » How to perform a riffle shuffle (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

minusthebear
View Profile
New user
23 Posts

Profile of minusthebear
Hi,

I'm new to magic and am starting on some card tricks by Oz Pearlman. I am really struggling with performing the riffle shuffle + waterfall effect (I haven't been able to even get to the waterfall yet). Every time I shuffle, huge chunks of cards wedge between each other rather than just a few at a time. I know it takes practice, and trust me I've been practicing but I can't get it down, I have some tricks to show but I don't want to go out because I know my performance will suffer considering I can barely riffle. I'm not trying to do a force shuffle, just a general-card-playing riffle shuffle.

I've watched some videos and here's what I'm doing.

1. Cut the deck in half.
2. Place thumbs near the outside corner of the cards (the side facing audience).
3. My ring and middle finger are on the opposite side to my thumb.
4. My index is on the outside-top of the card
5. I'm bending the card a little with my index but mostly with my thumb
6. annnnd card's get clunked together.

Any suggestions?
Cyberqat
View Profile
Inner circle
You can tell I work on the net from my
2210 Posts

Profile of Cyberqat
I don't know if I do it classically "right", but I find it easier to hold my thumb closer to the center of the top edge.

When you bend the cards up, the back edge should remain square, which means the front edge will form a wedge like shape. If you run your thumb evenly back along that wedge, the cards should fall evenly out. Practice doing it slowly, the slower the better, as that teaches you control, and practice one hand at a time. In fact you can practice with a whole deck in one hand at first if you want.